The Poisoned Pie Mystery

£6.99

Is Oakmoss Hornbeam the unluckiest boy in the world? Or has someone cursed him? When a black cat crosses his path, mysteriously blown in by a storm, Oakmoss believes it’s his worst omen yet. But Nightshade, a cat of considerable talents, sets out to become his lucky charm instead …

ISBN: 9781913322717 Author: Thornton, Nicki Publisher: Chicken House Publication Date: 5th May 2022 Imprint: Chicken House Cover: Paperback Dewey: 823.92 (edition:23) Pages: 352 Language: English Edition: Paperback original Readership: Ages 5-12 / Code: B Category: Subjects: , , , , , ,

 

From the author of The Last Chance Hotel comes a brand new magical mystery …

‘Blending magical adventure with Golden Age crime mystery, this delightfully atmospheric spin-off from the author of The Last Chance Hotel confirms Thornton’s place as one of the most original children’s writers around.’ WATERSTONES on book 1

Is Oakmoss Hornbeam the unluckiest boy in the world? Or has someone cursed him?

When a black cat crosses his path, mysteriously blown in by a storm, Oakmoss believes it’s his worst omen yet. But Nightshade, a cat of considerable talents, knows when it’s game on or game over.

With the help of newshound Veena Vale and magical crime investigator Dexter Stormforce, she sets out to become a lucky charm for one very unlucky boy …

  • A magical murder mystery story perfect for fans of Robin Stevens and Harry Potter
  • By the author of The Last Chance Hotel, chosen as Waterstones Book of the Month and nominated for the CILIP Carnegie Award
  • Follows on from The Howling Hag Mystery, a series starring fan-favourite Nightshade the cat as the star of her very own mystery!

Praise for THE LAST CHANCE HOTEL:

‘A jolly, atmospheric mystery.’ THE TIMES

‘All kinds of fun’ THE OBSERVER

‘[A] mash-up of murder mystery and fantasy … full of great characters, plot twists and intriguing detail.’ METRO

‘Featuring magical antics, a talking cat and a locked-room murder mystery, Seth’s story reads like an old-school whodunnit with added wizards and spells’ BOOKTRUST

In stock