The Boy Whose Wishes Came True

£6.99

10 year old Archie Crumb is having a tough time. Picked-on at school, picked last for any team, his dad has a new wife and little daughter and not much time for Archie, and his mum is struggling. But things start looking up when Archie comes off his bike, bumps his head, and literally sees stars…

ISBN: 9780702300868 Author: Rutter, Helen Publisher: Scholastic Publication Date: 3rd February 2022 Imprint: Scholastic Cover: Paperback Dewey: 823.92 (edition:23) Pages: 265 Language: English Edition: Paperback original Readership: Ages 5-12 / Code: B Category: Subjects: , ,

 

‘A delight… This book is wise, suspenseful and witty’ SUNDAY TIMES, Children’s Book of the Week

A brilliantly funny wish-fulfilment story with a huge heart, from the author of one of 2021’s most loved children’s debuts, The Boy Who Made Everyone Laugh.

Archie Crumb is having a tough time. Picked-on at school, picked last for any team; his home has been sad and quiet since Dad left and his luck feels like its run out.

But things start looking up when Archie bumps his head and literally sees stars: his favourite famous football player standing in front of him, granting him nine wishes.

This is INCREDIBLE! Unlimited ice cream, a whole day of eating pizza and playing on the X-Box, revenge on the bullies, becoming the star player in a televised football tournament: finally, all his dreams can come true! Will Archie wish his way to happiness? Or will he realise that magic wishes may be wonderful, but only he has the true power to change his life?

  • Perfect for fans of Lisa Thompson, David Baddiel and Jacqueline Wilson
  • Helen Rutter’s debut novel The Boy Who Made Everyone Laugh was chosen as a Waterstones Children’s Book of the Month
  • Funny, moving, inventive, uplifting children’s fiction at its finest.

 

Praise for The Boy Who Made Everyone Laugh

‘Very funny, very touching, very truthful – a total delight to read.’ Jacqueline Wilson

‘Amazing’ Noel Fielding

‘This incredibly debut tugs at your heartstrings and makes you laugh out loud in equal measure. I guarantee you’ll be cheering along in the final pages!’ Lisa Thompson

‘It’s Wonder with one-liners.’ Scott Evans, The Reader Teacher

‘As warm and wise as it is funny.’ Shappi Khorsandi

‘A laugh out loud story, the like of which I’ve never read before.’ Kerry Godliman

‘This book is a great way of showing children how to be confident and winners by having a sense of humour and making others laugh.’ Baroness Floella Benjamin

‘This book is brilliant. It is funny, wise, kind and exciting.’ Marcus Brigstocke

‘So funny and joyful.’ Rachel Parris

In stock